• Share

COP27: The 2022 United Nations Climate Change Conference

COP27
United Nations Climate Change
6 November 2022– 18 November 2022,
Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt & Online

The ICMM team will be in Egypt for COP27 taking part in the conversation on how we can effectively tackle the global challenge of climate change.

Highlights

(Events are live and subject to change.)

Please note, all session timings are displayed as EET times (Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt) which is 2 hours ahead of GMT.

 

Wednesday, 9 november 2022

  • 19:0020:00  –   International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Make Climate Action Everyone's Business Forum: ‘The role of climate-smart and responsible mining in the transition’ 

    Director of Innovation Christian Spano will be participating in this ICC side event roundtable at the Make Climate Action Everyone’s Business Forum to discuss how a virtuous cycle of climate-smart and responsible mining pathways can effectively help to support the transition. Other speakers include: Anthony C. Lea, President, International Copper Association (ICA); Jennifer Morris, CEO, The Nature Conservancy; and Alejandro Sousa, Senior Legal Adviser, Oceans and Law of the Sea, UN General Assembly.

    Speakers

    • Andrew Wilson, Global Policy Director, ICC
    • Laurent Chokoualé Datou, VP of Public Policy, International Copper Association
    • Martin Dietrich Brauch, Lead Researcher, Columbia Center on Sustainable Investment
    • Christian Spano, Director of Innovation, ICMM

    Times:

    GMT: 17:00 - 18:00

    CET: 18:00 - 19:00

    EET: 19:00 - 20:00

    Location

    Virtual

Thursday, 10 november 2022

  • 09:2510:05  –   Climate Action's Sustainable Innovation Forum: 'Is business taking nature and biodiversity seriously?'

    CEO Rohitesh Dhawan is speaking on a Climate Action side event plenary panel discussing the industry’s role towards a nature positive agenda including how we can enrich and regenerate biodiversity on both land and marine ecosystems to enable and enhance climate adaptation and mitigation. Other speakers include: H.E. Dr. Ing. Habtamu Itefa, Minister for Water and Electricity, Ethiopia; Susan Gardner, Director of the Ecosystems Division, United Nations Environment Programme; Zack Parisa, CEO, NCX, moderated by former UK broadcast journalist Nik Gowing.

     

    Times:

    GMT: 07:25 - 08:05

    EET: 09:25 - 10:05

    Location

    Climate Action Innovation Zone, Sharm El-Sheikh
  • 11:2012:00  –  Climate Action's Sustainable Innovation Forum: 'Climate Leader Live'

    Rohitesh Dhawan is joining Anthony Lea, CEO of the International Copper Association, for a conversation on the future of low carbon mining at Climate Action's side event plenary session.

     

    Times:

    GMT: 09:20 - 10:00

    EET: 11:20 - 12:00

    Location

    Climate Action Innovation Zone, Sharm El-Sheikh

Friday, 11 november 2022

  • 15:0016:30  –   COP27 Blue Zone - Hosted by EITI and IRENA: ‘Empowering communities for a just transition’

    Christian Spano is speaking on a panel co-hosted by Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) and International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), and moderated by Bady Baldé, Deputy Executive Director (EITI), in the COP27 Blue Zone. This event will bring together representatives from community-based organisations and civil society groups, as well as senior private sector executives, to explore what the energy transition means for communities living near renewable energy and extractive industries projects, and how to ensure their voices are heard in the global climate change debate.

     

    Times:

    GMT: 13:00 - 14:30

    EET: 15:00 - 16:30

    Location

    IRENA Pavilion, COP27 Blue Zone

Saturday, 12 november 2022

  • 18:3020:00  –   COP27 Blue Zone - Hosted by DRC, EITI, NRGI and ICMM: 'Mission Critical: Mining governance for a just energy transition'

    Christian Spano is speaking on a panel hosted by the DRC government, in partnership with ICMM, EITI and the Natural Resource Governance Institute (NRGI), exploring why resource governance and collaboration matter for a just transition. 

    Speakers

    • H.E. Antoinette N'Samba Kalambayi, Minister of Mines of the Democratic Republic of the Congo
    • Silas Olan’g, Africa Energy Transition Advisor and former Africa Co Director, Natural Resource Governance Institute (NRGI)

    Panel:

    • Bady Baldé, Deputy Executive Director, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) – moderator
    • Prof Jean-Marie Kanda, Director, Centre of Excellence for Advanced Battery Research
    • Ketakandriana Rafitoson, Executive Director, Transparency International Madagascar
    • Gauri Singh, Deputy Director General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
    • Christian Spano, Director of Innovation, ICMM

    Times:

    GMT: 16:30 - 18:00

    EET: 18:30 - 20:00

    Location

    Osiris Room, COP27 Blue Zone

Tuesday, 29 november 2022

Tuesday, 15 november 2022

  • 16:3017:30  –  COP27 South Africa Pavilion – Hosted by Anglo American: 'Mineral demand for clean-energy technologies'

    Christian Spano will be speaking on a panel discussing the rising mineral demand for clean-energy technologies.

    Speakers

    • Joanne Yawitch, CEO, NBI (moderator)
    • Themba Mkhwanazi, CEO Anglo American Bulks
    • Francois Dao, Vice-President, Middle East & Africa, EDF Renewables
    • Nicole Davidson, VP for Corporate Responsibility, ArcelorMittal
    • Christian Spano, Director of Innovation, ICMM

    Times:

    GMT: 14:30 - 15:30

    EET: 16:30 - 17:30

    Location

    South Africa Pavilion, COP27